Last year on our annual summer holiday to Cornwall, I finally got my wish to have surfing lessons.

We found a lovely beach called Gwithian Bay with an adjacent beach that allowed dogs so the parents could walk on the beach with the dogs whilst my brother and I surfed.

dsc_0186
Charlie Loves The Beach Nearly As Much As Squeaky Balls!

Annoyingly Luke was better than me and got the hang of surfing before me, but I think I styled it out better.  

This summer we started our holiday with a lesson again, a refresher as we’ve only ever had two lessons and that was a year ago…

I didn’t do too badly, this time I had the standing up on the surf board and struggled with catching the waves at the right time… the opposite problem to what I had last year! But at Sunset Surf you get amazing hot chocolates with whipped cream, marshmallows and flakes so I got over my not so successful surf lesson pretty quick.

IMG_4129.JPG
All The Gear, No Idea

The next visit to the beach we hired boards as recommended. Luke had be suggested to use a 8ft slick bottom surf board and it was suggested I try it too as it might make me a bit better… however I somehow got talked into going a size smaller 7ft 8in apparently there wouldn’t be much different in difficulty to use but easier to turn round in the water, I mean what’s two inches? (How could I be so wrong?!) Of course Luke again was fine I think I successfully caught and stood up for one wave in the whole two hours on the beach.

On our third surf day we were booked onto another lesson, this time I braved a sleek bottom again, this time the full 8ft. instead of a Roxy I used a soft top and lost half the skin on my hands, and once again failed epically at both the catching, standing aspects of surfing… I improved on the day before by having about five successful attempts.  I was literally ready to give up at the end of surf lesson when mark (the teacher) offered me and Luke to stay in for an hour longer, I switched to a swell and well I felt like I was a top surfer like Bethany Hamilton.  I came out buzzing despite my hands stinging and not actually being able to put them flat on the boards I had the best time in the sea I’d had all week. Although Luke didn’t really want to stay out and I just wanted my hands to stop hurting, I’m so glad we did.

I was really tested, as I got knocked back literally by the waves and mentally as I tried to think of the things I needed to do at a time. But whenever I started to get annoyed at myself or start to say that I couldn’t do it and I was going to give up…. Luke was there telling me to snap out of it and that I could. Thanks Lil Bro x

This Ginger Can Surf So Can You…

